Psychologist of the Year

The Psychologist of the Year Award is presented to an NJPA member who meets the following criteria:
1. Made important contributions to the profession of psychology in New Jersey (Demonstrated excellence in psychology either through practice, research, and /or teaching.)
2. Made important contributions made to the profession through service to NJPA
3. Is a valuable asset to the association, through his/her character and unique professional abilities.

Nominee credentials

•    Professional Activity - activity in areas which directly address the topic of promoting the profession of psychology.

• Work Experience - work or volunteer activity which places the candidate in contact with issues related to the profession of psychology.

•    Publications and/or Presentations


•    Perceived value/character of the nominee

•    Perceived unique abilities of the nominee

NJPA  Psychologist of the Year Award Recipients:

Francine Conway, PhD

Recognizes an NJPA member who has made important contributions to the profession of psychology in New Jersey, made important contributions to the profession through service to NJPA, and is a valuable asset to the association, through his/her character and unique professional abilities.

(Stay tuned for more information. Join us for the NJPA Virtual Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 16, 2020 at 5pm )

2019 Barry Katz, PhD:  Dr. Katz served as chair for the DYFS-PPCW committee for over 10 years and continues as a member. He served on the Committee of Legislative Affairs (COLA) twice, including as current chair. He is the current chair of Committee on Regulatory Affairs (CORA), a committee he began to address regulatory advocacy through NJPA. He served on the NJPA Ethics Committee and numerous NJPA task forces. He was NJPA president-elect in 2015, president in 2016, and NJPA past-president in 2017.  During his president-elect year, in response to the social/racial/emotional turmoil that was going on in the country and affecting NJPA members and clients, Dr. Katz chaired a workgroup within NJPA to address these issues.  As president of NJPA, Dr. Katz established increased transparency and responsivity of NJPA to members. Dr. Katz continued to advance the incorporation of NJPA with other professional organizations, groups, and governmental agencies. This led to increased cooperation among various groups along with increased visibility and advocacy for NJPA and its members.  Dr. Katz began outreach efforts to the other cultural psychology professional organizations in New Jersey including ABPsi and LPANJ. This included ongoing meetings with the presidents of these organizations along with NJPA President-Elect, Hulon Newsome. This led to multi-organizational projects that included the Undoing Racism introductory training that was attended by psychologists from all three organizations.  During his term as chair of DYFS-PPCW committee, Dr. Katz established and maintained communications/collaboration between NJPA and DCF. Dr. Katz was appointed to represent NJPA on the Governor’s committee to establish guidelines for forensic assessments in child abuse/neglect proceedings. This included acknowledgement of the key role that psychologists serve in these evaluations. This became a published document and continues as guide for professionals and agencies, alike.  As chair of COLA and CORA, Dr. Katz advanced the concept of member advocate as he increased involvement of NJPA membership in the legislative and regulatory advocacy process, including promoting key legislative efforts that help improve regulations for the varied work that psychologists are involved in and for early career psychologists, as well.  Dr. Katz provided pro-bono trainings to numerous agencies, stake holders, professionals, and NJPA members in the areas of psychological evaluations, ethics, child abuse/neglect, risk assessments, child welfare, and other topics. Most recent trainings conducted by Dr. Katz include a seminar for Domestic Violence in Child Protection Matters for the 2017 NJPA Fall Conference, articles for the NJPA journal, trainings for other professional organizations including Rutgers, DCPP, the Attorney General’s Office, public defenders, private attorneys, psychologists, etc.  Dr. Katz continues to promote diversity and inclusion within NJPA and in his practice as a forensic psychologist. Dr. Katz provides key expert testimony that has a positive impact upon traditionally marginalized groups including, African Americans, Latinos/Latinas, LGBTQ, individuals with specific psychological, neurological, cognitive, and emotional deficits, children, traumatized individuals, survivors or child abuse/neglect, survivors of domestic violence, rejected parents, etc. Many of Dr. Katz’s testimony and reports are used as a basis for precedence in the court and future legal proceedings and other interventions.  Dr. Katz has been actively involved in supervising early career psychologists to licensure and consistently modeling ethical behavior, both professionally and personally.

2018 Kenneth Freundlich, PhD
2017 Susan Esquilin, PhD
2016 Joseph Coyne, PhD
2015 - Aaron Welt, PhD
2014 - Jeannine Zoppi, PhD
2013 - Robert McGrath, PhD
2012 - David Panzer, PsyD
2011 - Jeffrey Axelbank, PsyD
2010 - Phyllis Lakin, PhD
2009 - Dawn Gemeinhardt, PhD
2008 - Lois Steinberg, PhD
2007 - Duncan Walton, PhD
2006 - Judith Patterson, PhD
2005 - Barry Mitchell, PsyD
2004 - Raymond Hanbury, PhD
2003 - Gordon Boals, PhD
2002 - T. Stephen Patterson, PhD
2001 - Philip Witt, PhD
2000 - Rosalind S. Dorlen, PsyD
1999 - James Wulach, PhD, JD
1998 - John M. Lagos, PhD
1997 - Helen M. Strauss, PhD
1996 - Jane K. Hochberg, PsyD
1995 - Nina K. Thomas, PhD
1994 - Barry L. Helfmann, PsyD
1993 - Patricia Steckler, PhD
1992 - Neil Massoth, PhD
1991 - Carol Goodheart, EdD
1990 - Louis Schlesinger, PhD
1989 - Gerard D'Alessio, PhD
1988 - Donald Bernstein, PhD
1987 - Dorothy Cantor, PsyD
1986 - Milton Schwebel, PhD
1985 - John Seymour, PhD
1983 - Robert Garber, PhD
1982 - Morris Goodman, PhD
1981 - Virginia Bennett, EdD
1980 - Adella Youtz, PhD
1979 - Jack Krasner, PhD
1978 - Stanley Moldawsky, PhD
1977 - Jules Barron, PhD
1976 - Marvin Metsky, PhD
1975 - C. Winfield Scott, PhD
1974 - Robert Weitz, PhD
1973 - A. Eugene Shapiro, PhD
1972 - Maurice Kott, PhD
1970 - Donald Super, PhD
1969 - Samuel Kutash, PhD